IEM Katowice 2022 Quarterfinals preview (2/25 – DraftKings)


G2 v Virtus Pro

Bans: Overpass (G2), Nuke (Virtus Pro)

Potential Maps: Mirage, Ancient, Dust 2, Inferno, Vertigo

These two game slates can be tough because ownership can easily get out of hand when a group of DFS players all go with the same strategy. This is where our ability to predict ownership can either hurt or help us. First off both matches tomorrow are extremely close so going with highest projected players on both sides could definitely work. But I hate that strategy and I have to stay true to myself.

Tbh I think G2 is the play here and I’ll tell you why. VP is priced so cheaply that they will draw a shit ton of ownership. For example look at Fl1t at only $6200 being projected for 57 points. Absolute value monster. But this is info that everyone will have so don’t feel bad if you want to use this against your competition in say a GPP lineup. NiKo will come in around 60%+ ownership I think but other than that I don’t expect to see much ownership except for maybe m0NESY because of the young AWPers insane ability to clutch. HuNter- is the guy who I think will draw around 10% ownership and be the x-factor for us.

Of course VP is in play too but the reason I would avoid them is simply because their team plays too slow and their team is too spread out in terms of talent. YEKINDAR is a savage but his propensity to have bad maps is really annoying when you are paying upwards of $8000. Fl1t ($6200) is a great young player, but he has only been with this team for a little over 2 months and the inconsistency with Buster and Qikert remain. I’ve watched a ton of VP matches and backed them a lot, they have insane talent and when they put it all together they look unstoppable. But unfortunately they are coming off an ugly 0-2 loss to Heroic and with G2 having made SERIOUS upgrades I really find it hard to see them winning this match.

My Plays = NiKo ($8800), M0NESY ($8200), HuNter- ($6800)

Gambit v FaZe

Bans: Nuke (Gambit), Vertigo (FaZe)

Potential Maps: Dust 2, Mirage, Inferno, Overpass, Ancient

I love it when a team’s firepower is narrow and predictable and that is exactly what FaZe brings to the table now that they added ropz to the squad. Broky ($7800), Twistzz ($7000) & ropz ($6600) are three of the most talented young guns in the CSGO scene and all 3 on the same lineup with someone like Karrigan (16x LAN trophies) calling the shots is a recipe for success.

Now I am not doubting Gambit’s prowess here, they are one of the most talented CIS teams in the game but I have seen a lot of cracks in their team during this LAN so far and I will not let dominant wins over NIP & Vitality (who both looked terrible this tournament) deter me from taking a shot on FaZe to pull off the upset here.

The fact of the matter is before the online era Nafany and this Gambit team were an unknown entity which went by Gambit Youngsters. I remember watching them upset the Copenhagen Flames on Inferno when they still had Farlig & Refrezh. Ahh the good days! But I digress, what I am getting at is that Gambit has over achieved for the last two years so a little slip up here and there are expected as a lot of their players are still essentially learning on the job as the average age of this team is 21.4 years old. Give me FaZe in a 2-1 upset tomorrow.

My Plays = Broky ($7800), Twistzz ($7000), ropz ($6600)